Back to All Events

2017 Multi-Disability Lawn Bowls National Championships

  • Raymond Terrace Bowling Club 2A Jacaranda Ave Raymond Terrace, NSW, 2324 Australia (map)

The 2017 Multi-Disability Lawn Bowls National Championships were held at Raymond Terrace Bowling Club in Raymond Terrace from the 21st - 26th of May. 

This year the competition welcomed 43 participants from South Australia, New South Wales, Victoria, Western Australia, Australian Capital Territory and Queensland. This matches 2016's record for the most competitors who have attended in the competitions history! 

Across the six days of the competition, the players competed in Men's B5/6 Singles, Men's B7/8 Singles, Women's Singles, Men's Pairs, Women's Pairs and Open Triples. 

Disability Sports Australia would like to thank Wheelchair Sports NSW and Raymond Terrace Bowling Club for hosting the event, Port Stephens Council for their generous support, the Bowls Executive Committee and Mr Lennon Scott Tournament Director for making the 2017 Multi-Disability Lawn Bowls National Championships a success!  


Saturday 20 May: Arrivals Day and Classification
Sunday 21 May: Welcome and Competition
Monday 22 - Thursday 25 May: Competition
Friday 26 May: Final Competition and Presentation Evening 

The full competition schedule can be found here! 


Bronze: Hoskins/Bonnell/Bonnell (QLD) 
Silver: Quinn/Baker/Buckley (SA)
Gold: Barry/Hanson/Protopapas (VIC)  

Men's Pairs
Bronze: Barry/Protopapas (VIC)
Silver: Bonnell/Sellars (QLD) 
Gold: Flavel/Buckley (SA)

Women's Pairs
Bronze: Morrison/Meakin (VIC) 
Silver: Hunter/Benbow (NSW) 
Gold: Hoskins/Bonnell (QLD) 

Men's B5/6 Singles
Bronze: Matthew Barrie (ACT) 
Silver: Tony Bonnell (QLD) 
Gold: Liam Buckley (SA)

Men's B7/8 Singles
Bronze: Ken Hanson (VIC) 
Silver: Chris Flavel (SA)
Gold: Josh Barry (VIC)

Women's Singles
Bronze: Louise Hoskins (QLD)
Silver: Annette Goldsworthy (QLD)
Gold: Debra McGarry (QLD) 

Clover-Lester Encouragement Award - Geoff Roberts (NSW) 
The Clover Lester Encouragement Award was established in 2000 recognising players that are relatively new to the sport at a national level and who set a good example at all times on and off the green, displaying good sportsmanship, encouraging others and having the potential to become a good bowler. This years recipient was Geoff Roberts (NSW). 

Interstate Aggregate Champions - South Australia
The Interstate Trophy is awarded to the state who has the highest points on aggregate across disciplines and classes and divided by the number of players on the team. This years winner was South Australia. 

Full Results

Full Results can be downloaded here!


Photos from the 2017 Multi-Disability Lawn Bowls National Championships coming soon! 

The following states and territories competed for the National Championships. 


Team Manager
Bryce Williams

Geoff Seton
Gilbert Hicks
Jim Sigsworth
Geoff Roberts
Doug Lambert
Ryan Wood
Jo Hunter
Cheryl Benbow
Michelle Campbell
Sue Holbert


Team Manager
Denise McMillan

Eddie Gollan
Steve Murray
Wayne Allsopp
Greg Powers
Lara-Jane Symons


Team Manager
Bernie Wolland

Tony Bonnell
Brett Sellars
Bernie Wolland
Don Currie
Shane Kerr
Dale Mansfield
Serena Bonnell
Debra McGarry
Louise Hoskins
Annette Goldsworthy


Team Manager
Theresa Emberton

Liam Buckley
Steve Quinn
Mike Emberton
Christopher Flavel
Darryl Willson
Simon Baker


Team Manager
Carol Protopapas

Lucas Protopapas
Peter Dixon
Ken Hanson
Josh Barry
Ross Higgins
Aaron Emonson
Jo-Anne Boland
Gwen Fabris
Allison Meakin
Janet Morrison


Team Manager
Karyn Mason

Matthew Barrie
John Mason

For more information about this years Multibowl Nationals or competitions in the future, follow Disability Sports Australia on Facebook and Twitter or email to be added to the mailing list for updates.