CALL FOR Expressions of Interest to Officiate at the 2019 GIO Wheelchair Rugby National Championship

To all Disability Sports Australia Referees,

Wheelchair Rugby Australia (as part of Disability Sports Australia) will be holding the 2019 GIO Wheelchair Rugby National Championship as follows:

Arrivals: Wednesday, 26 June 2019

Referee Clinic: Thursday, 27 June 2019, Quaycentre, Sydney Olympic Park

2019 GIO Wheelchair Rugby National Championship: Friday, 28 – Sunday, 30 June 2019, Quaycentre, Sydney Olympic Park

Departures: Monday, 1 July 2019

Now that the number of teams has been confirmed, Wheelchair Rugby Australia wishes to invite all suitably qualified referees who wish to be involved as a referee at this event to submit the expression of interest before the closing date of Monday, 6 May 2019.

The Head Official for this tournament will be Quentin Fleischfresser, Wheelchair Rugby Australia Referee Coordinator.

The Evaluator for this tournament will be Stan Battock, Technical Delegate Wheelchair Rugby Tokyo 2020 and Member at Large IWRF Technical Committee.

The Technical Delegate for the tournament is Darryl Wingard (National League Commissioner).

The following positions are available for the tournament:

  • Referee x 5

Only IWRF qualified officials, National Level A qualified officials, and candidate Level A will be considered for the referee positions.

Please submit your application below on or before Monday, 6 May 2019.

Completed applications, as per the instructions below, are to be submitted online. If you have any issues submitting the digital form, please contact DSA Manager, Sport & Event Operations, Kelsey Singh at to receive a PDF copy.

NOTE: Late applications will not be considered.

Application Form

Contact Details
Name *
Other Information to Assist Selection
Please provide a weblink to footage (e.g. YouTube, Facebook, etc.)

Selection Process

The selection of the officials will use the following process:

Referees: The Referees will be selected using a panel which will include:

  • Quentin Fleischfresser – Chair, Wheelchair Rugby Australia and Referee Coordinator

  • Darryl Wingard – Wheelchair Rugby Australia League Commissioner

  • Chris Nay – Disability Sports Australia, Manager - Partnerships