Arafura Games

The Arafura Games is a week long multi-sport competition held every two years in Darwin. The Games is a major sporting event hosted by the Northern Territory Government and managed by Northern Territory Major Events Company. In 1991, the first Games were known as the Arafura Sporting Festival.

The Arafura Games targets developing athletes across the Asia Pacific region and beyond. In 2011, in partnership with the Oceania Paralympic Committee and the Australian Paralympic Committee the Arafura Games incorporated athletes with disabilities in the Oceania Paralympic Championships. The Oceania Paralympic Championships are open to eligible athletes with physical and visual impairments. Having athletes with a disability compete in the same program as able-bodied athletes is a unique and exciting feature of the Arafura Games.

In 2011 the Arafura Games showcased 20 sports including athletics, basketball, boxing, cricket, football, golf, hockey, international life saving, muaythai, sepak takraw, shooting – clay target IPSC pistol and ISSF pistol, squash, swimming, table tennis, ten pin bowling, triathlon, volleyball and weightlifting.

For results and media releases from the 2011 Arafura Games please visit

The 2013 Arafura Games will be hosted 11-18 May.

To find out more about the Arafura Games or the Oceania Paralympic Championships please visit